April Fools in Jian


Had a pretty good turnout for yesterday’s grand re-opening of the coffee bar. We have been closed for three months due to Winter Holiday, Spring Festival, Rainy Season and a general lack of enthusiasm. Now that the weather is on the upswing (27 degrees C today), it is time to get serious about creating more caffeine addicts. Hmmm…. iced mochas anyone?
April Fools is another one of those Western holidays (like Christmas and Valentines Day) that seems to be catching on in China. Victor pulled the old bucket-of-water-above-the-door trick on me. Soaked me good. He also got Gray and Alex before I put a stop to it. A general dousing of customers as they come through the door is probably not a good marketing ploy.
The word “party” has completely opposite meanings in China and the USA. There is “THE Party” and there is “PARR-TEE!!” Chinese do not seem to know how to “PARR-TEE!!”; at least the ones I know. In America, a party is generally spontaneous and unrehearsed… mostly drinking, eating and conversation. In China, parties are planned. Everyone sits around the perimeter of the room. There is a Master and Mistress of Ceremonies. There are perfomances of various kinds. Imagine the surprise of my coffee bar guests when they come expecting an April Fools Party. Now that I think about it, it was perfect!
Interesting thing happened in my writing classes this last week. All of my students have a writing partner. Their long term assignment is to either write a business plan, or a short movie script. Anyway, I scheduled an evening viewing of The Sixth Sense by M. Night Shyamalan. Couldn’t get the DVD to play.
We now have Internet in some of the multi-media classrooms (a VERY recent development). The students chose a VOD (video-on-demand) performance of The Village by….. M. Night Shyamalan. I had nothing to do with their choice. Really. Anyway, I’ve seen it before and thought it was excellent. Won’t say too much more, but as I sat there watching I couldn’t help thinking about China. Go grab a copy and let me know what you think.
All for now…
Author: Ron's Blog

At home in the Global Village.

Leave a Reply

