Tai He


Been a looooooooooooong time since I blogged. In fact, I completely forgot about this space. I stumbled onto it by accident last week, so now I will try to do better:
In addition to my teaching schedule at the university this term, I have taken on a second job teaching in a junior middle school in Tai He. They send a driver for me in the morning. It is about 45 minutes from here. I have really enjoyed the change of pace. The kids are fun, although they require more patience and energy than my college kids.

Sing Along With Ron

Yesterday I was the “guest of honor” at a wedding of one of the Tai He teachers. I kind of like Chinese weddings; they skip the ceremony and go straight to the party!! All that other junk (ceremony, photos, legal stuff) happens at another time or on another day.  I sang two songs for them: I Love You More Than I Can Say, and Lao Shu Ai Da Mi (Like Mice Love Rice).
During the banquet, as I was digging in, I enquired what I was eating. Turtle! I should have learned my lesson two nights previous, as the delicious meat I had been eating was not duck, but….. dog. I need to listen better. Sorry PETA members. I couldn’t help wondering if the canine browsing around under our table was related.
Today is Sunday and I am still trying to get organized after my long winter holiday in Hainan. This afternoon, Gray and I will meet downtown with the owners of a (new this year) pizza place. They are interested in “cooperating” with us in my coffee bar. I am torn between trying to sell the place and investing further. I have had a lot of fun, but now it is actually turning into work. I really depend on (student manager) Gray. His English has become quite good. Although I have picked up some Chinese, I don’t think constantly asking “Where is the bathroom?” is very impressive to potential business partners.
Leave a Reply

